Wheaton Franciscan Becomes Part of Ascension Wisconsin - Ascension Wisconsin

Skip to Content

Published on March 01, 2016

Wheaton Franciscan Becomes Part of Ascension Wisconsin

Wheaton reaches final agreement with Ascension

Milwaukee, WI – Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare announced the signing of an agreement making Wheaton’s Southeast Wisconsin operations and related corporate services part of Ascension Wisconsin, effective today, March 1, 2016. Based in St. Louis, Ascension is the largest Catholic and not-for-profit healthcare delivery system in the nation.

Wheaton is one of four regional healthcare systems that are part of Ascension Wisconsin, joining Columbia St. Mary’s, Ministry Health Care and Affinity Health System.

Wheaton, which has been sponsored by the Wheaton Franciscan Sisters and Felician Sisters in Southeast Wisconsin, has a presence throughout the region with eight hospital campuses, 330 medical group physicians, outpatient centers, transitional and long-term care facilities, home health and hospice, and nearly 11,000 associates.

“We are pleased to become part of Ascension Wisconsin. This relationship will support our commitment to deliver high-quality, compassionate and personalized care in the communities we serve,” said John Oliverio, President and CEO of Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare.

Ascension and Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare share a common mission of serving all, with special attention to persons living in poverty and those most vulnerable. Both organizations are committed to promoting community and the common good, and advocating for a compassionate and just society.


About Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare in Southeast Wisconsin is a Catholic, not-for-profit healthcare organization that was started more than 140 years ago. Hospitals in Southeast Wisconsin are Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare – All Saints; Wheaton Franciscan – Elmbrook Memorial, St. Joseph, and Midwest Spine and Orthopedic Hospital and Wisconsin Heart Hospital Campuses; Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare – St. Francis and Franklin Hospitals; Midwest Orthopedic Specialty Hospital, a joint venture, in Franklin. Wheaton Franciscan Medical Group includes more than 330 physicians in more than 50 locations, nearly 11,000 associates, a network of outpatient centers, three transitional and extended care facilities, Home Health, and Hospice.

Prior to joining Ascension, the System was sponsored by the Wheaton Franciscan Sisters and Felician Sisters in Southeast Wisconsin.

About Ascension
Ascension (www.ascension.org) is a faith-based healthcare organization dedicated to transformation through innovation across the continuum of care. As the largest non-profit health system in the U.S. and the world’s largest Catholic health system, Ascension is committed to delivering compassionate, personalized care to all, with special attention to persons living in poverty and those most vulnerable. In FY2015, Ascension provided nearly $2 billion in care of persons living in poverty and other community benefit programs. Approximately 160,000 associates and 36,000 aligned providers serve in 2,000 sites of care – including 137 hospitals and more than 30 senior living facilities – in 24 states and the District of Columbia. In addition to healthcare delivery, Ascension subsidiaries provide a variety of services and solutions including physician practice management, venture capital investing, investment management, biomedical engineering, clinical care management, information services, risk management, and contracting through Ascension’s own group purchasing organization.

About Ascension Wisconsin
Ascension Wisconsin includes Columbia St. Mary’s, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare and Ministry Health Care (which includes Affinity Health System), with 27 hospitals and hundreds of sites of care across the state. Together, the health systems employ more than 24,000 associates and nearly 1,000 medical group physicians. In fiscal year 2015, the health systems that now comprise Ascension Wisconsin provided $300 million in community benefit and care of persons living in poverty.