St. Francis Hospital Accreditation & Awards - Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare

Skip to Content

Awards & Recognition

Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare – St. Francis is consistently recognized on a local and national level for providing high quality and compassionate care to those we serve.

St. Francis Accreditations & Certifications

  • St. Francis is fully accredited by the Joint Commission, an independent, not-for-profit organization that sets national health care standards and has been accrediting health care facilities since 1951
  • Accredited Chest Pain Center, Society of Chest Pain Centers
  • Certified Advanced Primary Stroke Center by the Joint Commission
  • Three-year accreditation with commendation by the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC)
  • Accredited Baby Friendly™ Hospital
  • Outstanding Achievement Award from the American College of Surgeons – Commission on Cancer

Physician Recognition

Many of our physicians at St. Francis are consistently ranked among the best doctors in the Greater Milwaukee area by Milwaukee Magazine, the Milwaukee Business Journal, M Magazine and Biz Times Milwaukee. Find a top doctor today!

HealthGrades® Awards for Clinical Excellence

HealthGrades®, the nation’s leading independent ratings organization, has awarded St. Francis its 2012 Emergency Medicine Excellence AwardTM, putting St. Francis in the top 5 percent of the nation for emergency medicine. In addition, St. Francis was the recipient of the Critical Care Excellence AwardTM in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Nationally Recognized Care Right in Your Neighborhood

St. Francis is ranked among the top five percent in the country for critical care and the top 10 percent for pulmonary care, according to HealthGrades, the nation's leading independent health care ratings organization. Nearly 5,000 hospitals were included in this sweeping study which examines mortality rates and complication rates from government data from 2008-2010.

Top-performing hospitals had dramatically lower mortality rates than other hospitals, according to the study. For the 17 procedures and diagnoses for which HealthGrades analyzed mortality rates, patients at top hospitals had a 72 percent lower chance of dying when compared to the lowest-performing hospitals, and a 53 percent lower chance of dying when compared to the U.S. national average.

Critical Care Excellence Award

St. Francis has been awarded the Critical Care Excellence Award for three years in a row (2010-2012). In addition, the hospital ranked third in Wisconsin in 2012 for critical care and has been in the top 10 in Wisconsin for five consecutive years.

Pulmonary Care Excellence Award

As the recipient of the Pulmonary Care Excellence Award, St. Francis is ranked among the top 10 percent of all U.S. hospitals for its pulmonary services.

Additional 2012 HealthGrades awards include:

  • Five-star rated for overall Critical Care three years in a row (2010-2012)
  • Five-star rated for overall Pulmonary services
  • Five-star rated for Valve Surgery
  • Five-star rated for treatment of Heart Failure
  • Five-star rated for treatment of Respiratory Failure five years in a row (2008-2012)
  • Five-star rated for Appendectomy two years in a row (2011-2012)
  • Five-star rated for treatment of Pneumonia four years in a row (2009-2012)

For Our Community

2015 Annual Report



Subscribe to Our eNewsletters

Subscribe to our eNewsletters